top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKingsDtr

Contentment

Contentment: Regarding my Christian walk, this word holds two very different connotations.


It can be considered dangerous when I find that I am content staying where I am in my walk with the Lord. For example, when I just go through the motions.....reading my devotions so I can stay on schedule with my “bible in a year” app rather than reading to spend time with my Lord....Praying when I “need” something rather than praying to converse with my Heavenly Father..... Attending church because that’s my weekend routine.


I believe contentment can be considered positive when synonymous with acceptance. When I stop trying to make things happen in my time or in my way, and trust the Lord’s plan for my life. It brings to mind the Bible verses: “Be still, and know that I God.....” Psalm 46:10 (ESV); and “The heart of a man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps” Proverbs 16:9 (ESV). In this way, I need to learn to be content when doing God’s will.


I struggle in both areas of contentment; I need to get out of my comfort zone and go where God leads me, but I also need to learn that sometimes God’s will for me is to serve just where I am, at this moment. It is sometimes hard to know which way He is calling me, but I believe that if can just “be still” and listen, He will whisper guidance to my heart.


3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page